cfm and compressor questions

All things Air Compressor Related
User avatar
jason1
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:24 am
My Location: indiana
Location: WINSLOW, INDIANA
Contact:

cfm and compressor questions

Post by jason1 » Mon Jun 09, 2014 3:54 pm

I have been researching this site and others for a while, trying to learn all I can about what kind of cfm I need. im currently using my really old speedaire 80 gallon, 5hp motor, 15 cfm 2 stage pump(5b404z) is the model I think. my shop is plumbed with 1/2" black pipe. its ran straight into my h/f pot blaster. I want to be able to blast at 100 psi. my current set up allows me to blast consistently @ around 70-75 psi. through an 1/8: nozzle. I have single phase in the shop so I have to stay within that. You guys do what I do, so I ask for your expert opinions. [u]what kind of cfm am I looking at to be able to blast at 100psi 1/8' nozzle continuously? Im just having a hell of a time making sense of this, thank you in advance for your help.
http://www.millscustompowdercoating.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

812-766-0308

ed1966ss
Posts: 1435
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:52 pm
My Location:
Location: Cincinnati Ohio

Re: cfm and compressor questions

Post by ed1966ss » Mon Jun 09, 2014 4:45 pm

here is a chart that should help you out:

http://www.mediablast.com/air-usage.php" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Look at the pressure blast section.

User avatar
duke46
Posts: 11460
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:32 pm
My Location: East Coast NC
Location: New Bern NC
Contact:

Re: cfm and compressor questions

Post by duke46 » Mon Jun 09, 2014 5:18 pm

Another 15 cfm one would give you 30 and if all worked well you could go up a nozzle size and cover more area. Lots of guys are doing that. I just did.
All I have said is said just for meanness so I don't have to argue with anyone!

http://www.pcitdad.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
hjeades
Posts: 5258
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 11:13 am
My Location: Pekin, IL
Location: Pekin, Illinois
Contact:

Re: cfm and compressor questions

Post by hjeades » Mon Jun 09, 2014 6:43 pm

I run two 5hp/two-stage compressors and blast at 100psi with no worries. Infact my Ingersol compressor runs most of the time by itself. The other compressor only kicks on as needed. I also have 3/4" pipe for air lines. I reduce down to 1/2" at the componets.
Harley
Happiness is crusing in your street machine with a big breasted woman and a cold beer!
Definition of a Street Machine: A high horse power vehicle able to burn tires in high gear, & capable of evading high speed pursuit.
Restoration is not just a way of life, it's a way to bring new life. Save a car build a hot rod!
http://www.likenewparts.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
jason1
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:24 am
My Location: indiana
Location: WINSLOW, INDIANA
Contact:

Re: cfm and compressor questions

Post by jason1 » Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:37 pm

Thank you ed1966. That is what I was looking for! Duke, it would probly be cheaper for me to get a 21 cfm compressor and put this ancient unit on standby lol I've read on here people lean towards the eaton compressors. Is that still the nest bang for the buck?
http://www.millscustompowdercoating.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

812-766-0308

Detective Coating
Posts: 1820
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 5:39 pm
My Location: Colonial Heights, VA
Location: Colonial Heights, VA
Contact:

Re: cfm and compressor questions

Post by Detective Coating » Mon Jun 09, 2014 11:20 pm

jason1 wrote:Thank you ed1966. That is what I was looking for! Duke, it would probly be cheaper for me to get a 21 cfm compressor and put this ancient unit on standby lol I've read on here people lean towards the eaton compressors. Is that still the nest bang for the buck?
Yeah Eaton is especially if you're limited to single phase. I've been searching lately and 34cfm for 2k shipped is quite a good deal with a warranty (2 year I believe)
http://www.detectivecoating.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

bigpimpdx
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:46 pm
My Location: TX
Location: Tyler, TX

Re: cfm and compressor questions

Post by bigpimpdx » Mon Jun 09, 2014 11:30 pm

I am actually about to purchase 2 10hp single phase compressors, I do not have 3 phase, I am also getting an alternating relay with it to make the two of them act as one duplex compressor. It will alternate which one kicks on during normal use and will have both running during heavy loads, such as sandblasting. They had a duplex compressor for almost 7k but I talked to them today and with buying the two compressors, air dryer, coalescing filter, alternating relay and shipping I am still less than the sticker on the duplex compressor, which would have been over 10k with air dryer and shipping. This setup should push 65-68ish CFM at 100 psi.

Edit* Eaton is where I am getting mine, 10hp 80 gallon 34 cfm for just under 1900

User avatar
jason1
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:24 am
My Location: indiana
Location: WINSLOW, INDIANA
Contact:

Re: cfm and compressor questions

Post by jason1 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 7:58 am

Detective Coating wrote:
jason1 wrote:Thank you ed1966. That is what I was looking for! Duke, it would probly be cheaper for me to get a 21 cfm compressor and put this ancient unit on standby lol I've read on here people lean towards the eaton compressors. Is that still the nest bang for the buck?
Yeah Eaton is especially if you're limited to single phase. I've been searching lately and 34cfm for 2k shipped is quite a good deal with a warranty (2 year I believe)
That is what I'm looking at. Now for the hard part....entering the c.c number and pulling the trigger. I usually drink a six pack before I spend that kind of money. Lol. But seriously it's time to move up or move out. My coating is constantly waiting on my blasting. I'm a one man operation for the most part. I pay a buddy to help me blast from time to time. Blasting is killing me.
http://www.millscustompowdercoating.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

812-766-0308

User avatar
duke46
Posts: 11460
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:32 pm
My Location: East Coast NC
Location: New Bern NC
Contact:

Re: cfm and compressor questions

Post by duke46 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:03 am

That is why the ones of us that can use a chemical stripper like B17 and then all you have to do is etch the parts.
But if you have a lot of stuff that is rusty or even have to blast bigger stuff outside or in a large blast room then you need more CFM. You also need a good size pot and a top of the line blast setup.
Your spending is far from over. Even if you can find good used equipment.
All I have said is said just for meanness so I don't have to argue with anyone!

http://www.pcitdad.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
jason1
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:24 am
My Location: indiana
Location: WINSLOW, INDIANA
Contact:

Re: cfm and compressor questions

Post by jason1 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:28 am

duke46 wrote:That is why the ones of us that can use a chemical stripper like B17 and then all you have to do is etch the parts.
But if you have a lot of stuff that is rusty or even have to blast bigger stuff outside or in a large blast room then you need more CFM. You also need a good size pot and a top of the line blast setup.
Your spending is far from over. Even if you can find good used equipment.
Yeah I agree. But I can make money faster with more air, then comes the blaster upgrade. Honestly, I've had pretty good luck with my hf pressure pots. I bought a 8x16 shed and converted it into a blast room. That allows me to reclaim my media 4 or 5 times which also will save me a bundle in the long run. I do a lot of different items, but it seems blasting in the room is easier than using my cabinet. The cabinet is nice for items that are small and bare metal, unfortunately I rarely see these items!!
http://www.millscustompowdercoating.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

812-766-0308

Post Reply